La Ley


[La Ley]

Commonly described as Latin America's answer to Erasure and Duran Duran, La Ley performs synthesizer-friendly music with a definite rock edge.

Formed in 1987, the band went through numerous line-up changes before settling on Beto Cuevas on vocals, Luciano Rojas on bass, Mauricio Clavería on drums and founding member Andrés Bobe on guitar.

La Ley signed with Polygram Records in 1991, and after recording a self-titled album in 1993, the group won a number of awards. The band toured steadily and garnered more fans after appearing on a number of Mexican television shows.

In 1994, Bobe was killed in an accident, but despite rumors of a break-up, the group persevered. Pedro Frugone became the band's new guitarist later that year.

La Ley left Polygram and signed with Warner in 1995. After the group released Vertígo in 1998, Rojas left the band.

La Ley's following album, Uno, won the group a Grammy Award for Best Latin Alternative Album. La Ley headlined the Watcha Tour in 2001.